The Local Government Division is responsible for the promotion of local governance within the Communities and the provision of basic services such as minor road, drains and footpaths development and maintenance; the management of cemeteries and community markets; and sanitation services. The local authorities also collect property taxes on behalf of Central Government; and participate in the management of other public facilities as required by Central Government.

The following are the existing local authorities:

    • District Councils: Biabou, Bequia, Lowmans, Park Hill, and Union Island,


    • Town Boards: Barrouallie, Calliaqua, Chateaubelair, Georgetown and Layou


    • Village Councils: Marriaqua and Troumaca,


    • Special Services: West St. George, North windward, North Leeward and Canouan


  • Kingstown Town Board

The local authorities are appointed/selected  and provided with subvention by Central Government to meet their operational cost and to provide service to the communities.


Halifax Street
(same compound as Ministry of Education)

Opening Hours

Mon – Fri
8:00am – 4:15pm
(784) 456-1111
(784) 457-2031